Who sets the price for art work?

Users who are viewing this thread

dieselfit

Reaction score
Tokenz
0.14z
Art can go from the lowest prices to the highest. Depending on the piece or the artist, the price is always adjusted accordingly. How is the price set? Does it depend on how it looks?

Replies
    Views
    Participant count
  • Participants list

Woobeewoo

Reaction score
Tokenz
0.00z
The artist often sets the price, otherwise it depends on the artist's reputation. An interesting documentary about this is "Exit through the gift shop", it makes you think about the real price of the works of art.

blueeyes

Reaction score
Tokenz
0.06z
I am a budding photographer and I set my own prices for my art. Because I am not popular yet, I don't set my prices too high...I do look at other artwork to get an idea what is too high or way too low....

dieselfit

Reaction score
Tokenz
0.14z
Thanks guys. That makes sense, it's almost like selling home made items, the price depends on the quality and maker. Thank you again

JoanMcWench

Reaction score
Tokenz
0.02z
I disagree. I do not feel the price depends on anything other than the way the art community perceives something. Quality, more than most, seems irrelevant. The maker I can get on board with. The artist and their name make a piece worth what the art community agrees to. If Picasso threw his paint on his palm, spit on it, and slapped it to a canvas it would be worth more to many than a work that took years and talent to conceive. Sadly.

zemmer

Reaction score
Tokenz
0.00z
Well, the artist sets the initial price, certainly. And the seller sets the asking price after something is on "the market".

But ultimately the buyers set the real price. Like anything that is for sale, pieces of art are only worth (financially, at least) what someone will pay for them.

dieselfit

Reaction score
Tokenz
0.14z